Green Grotto: White Peach Oolong Tea and Strawberry Iced Tea Review

I headed back to Green Grotto for some lunch and also tested out some new drinks as well. In this review, I’ll be taking a closer look at their White Peach Oolong Tea and Strawberry Iced Tea.

Store

Lunchtime can get pretty busy at Green Grotto, especially with nearby Ryerson and University of Toronto students and workers heading out on their lunch breaks. Similar to their other stores, the downtown Toronto location on 832 Bay St. offers a lunch special during the weekdays. It comes with a noodle or rice dish and an iced tea or milk tea drink. The food can be a hit or miss. Personally, I prefer Green Grotto’s snacks (like takoyaki and popcorn chicken) and desserts compared to their meals.

 

What I Ordered

White Peach Oolong Tea

After the less than impressive hot milk frothie from my last visit, I decided to go with something refreshing and iced (however, the hot Wintermelon Macchiato did catch my attention. Maybe next time?). Under their “Taiwanese Classic Drink” section, I got the large White Peach Oolong Tea for $5.99.

I’ve already mentioned this in my previous Green Grotto reviews, but drink prices are slightly higher compared to other bubble tea places nearby (though it’s on par with Labothéry). With fruity flavoured drinks, I tend to skip the toppings since I don’t want anything else messing with the flavours.

 

 

Overall, I really enjoyed this drink! It’s perfect for those who want a sweet (but not too sweet) tea that’s also refreshing. While I love peach-flavoured drinks, I’m always a bit hesitant to try one since sometimes they can be too sour (and I’m definitely not a fan of sour drinks). The white peach oolong tea had a tanginess to it but it wasn’t too sharp or sour. I think the combination with a tea base helped to balance it out.

Compared to the strawberry iced tea below, this peach drink has a full-bodied flavour that’s smooth and rich. The peach flavour was strong, but again, it wasn’t too sour and didn’t taste artificial. The only drawback is that I couldn’t really make out the oolong tea base, which is a shame.

 

Strawberry Iced Tea

Next up is the regular Strawberry Iced Tea at $4.99. This drink was one of the options when you order from Green Grotto’s lunch special on the back on their menu. The drink being reviewed has a green tea base, but customers can get black tea as well.

 

 

Again, this was a solid drink (I haven’t had a disappointing cold drink at Green Grotto yet). Compared to the white peach oolong tea, this strawberry tea had a crisper, dryer taste. It provides a nice fruitiness that makes for a refreshing drink.

Similar to the strawberry jasmine drink I tried at Spot Crepes and Tea, Green Grotto uses real strawberry juice in this drink, rather than syrup. This means the strawberry flavour was more subtle, but I still enjoyed it. The sweetness level was also perfect because it allowed the natural strawberry flavour to shine.

 

Would I Drink It To The Last Drop?

White Peach Oolong Tea

Green Grotto’s White Peach Oolong Tea lands firmly in my “Would Buy Again” list (though the fact that they have so many drink options means it may be a while before I buy it again). If you enjoy fruity peach flavours, definitely get this!

Strawberry Iced Tea

Is it as good as the strawberry jasmine tea from Spot Crepes and Tea? Yes and no. The strawberry flavour for both Green Grotto and Spot’s drinks are subtle, but I think the jasmine tea at Spot added more to the drink. The green tea base at Green Grotto was fine, but wasn’t anything special. On the other hand, the strawberry flavour at Green Grotto was more consistent whereas the Spot drink required more stirring in order to get a more balanced taste. Still, I really enjoyed this drink and would also get it again.

 

One Last Tip

Green Grotto’s drink menu is quite extensive with dozens and dozens of categories. So far, I’ve had better luck with their cold drinks. If you’re stuck on what to get, one way to narrow down the choices is to think about whether you want a savoury drink (e.g. milk tea, yogurt tea, etc) or a fruity one (e.g. iced tea, smoothie, etc).

Leave a comment