Real Fruit Bubble Tea: Honeydew Smoothie

Time to go somewhere new! I recently stopped by Real Fruit Bubble Tea for something a bit different than my usual milk tea. With “Be Real” as their slogan, I couldn’t help but be intrigued by a bubble tea spot that emphasizes fresh, authentic ingredients. In this review, I’ll be trying out their Honeydew Smoothie!

Store

This small store is located on 444 Yonge St., and when I mean small, I mean really, really small. If there’s more than 3 people in there, it’s going to get crowded. While there’s a tiny table and a couple of chairs in the corner, this is definitely a “grab and go” place, not somewhere to sit and relax.

 

 

If you take a closer look at the menu in store, they clearly list which section uses flavouring (powder) and which one uses real fruit. I think this transparency is really great. Not everyone likes powdered flavour, while others have no issue with it. As expected, a lot of the drinks focus on fruity flavours, such as the Lychee Ice Crush, Watermelon Fresh Juice, Coconut Sherbet, and Pomegranate Green Tea.

 

What I Ordered

I ordered a medium honeydew smoothie with no toppings, which came to $7.35 in total – not exactly a cheap drink! As indicated by the name of the store, Real Fruit Bubble Tea prizes itself on using fresh ingredients, meaning that drinks will ultimately be pricier than other stores.

The smoothie drink section all uses real fruit, and you can really taste the difference when compared to powdered honeydew drinks, which usually features a highly sugary, simulated flavour.

 

 

The smoothies are made with milk, which (theoretically) should add a creamier taste to the drink. However, it wasn’t that noticeable in my drink as the clean, fruity taste was the most dominant.

Overall, the drink had a very refreshing taste with a strong cantaloupe-like flavour. The melon taste is there, but it’s different than other honeydew drinks I’ve tried. The aftertaste is crisp and remains light throughout, making it an excellent choice for a hot summer day.

 

Would I Drink It To The Last Drop?

A solid drink overall, but it’s a very pricey one, especially for a medium. If price wasn’t a factor, it would be a 4/5 for sure. I will point out that their medium-sized cup is actually quite big, about the same size as a Chatime large. As one of the few bubble tea places still operating on a small-medium-large drink size system, I would probably get small next time.

 

One Last Tip

Similar to Chatime, Real Fruit Bubble Tea’s menu lists the calorie count for their drinks. My honeydew smoothie came in at 460 cals for a medium. If you’re watching your calories, definitely consider a drink from the “Green Tea” section, since a lot of those are in the high 100s or low 200s for a medium.

Leave a comment